Section 1: Objective
The Australasian Victorian Studies Association is organised to promote the activities and research of scholars in Victorian studies.

Section 2: Membership
Membership is open to all those who are interested in the study of Victorian culture.

Each member is required to pay annual dues. The amount of these dues is set or reviewed by the Executive Committee and approved by the members of the Association present at a duly called meeting.

Life membership may be given to members who in the opinion of the Executive have made a substantial contribution to the welfare and success of the Association.

Section 3: Officers
The Executive Officers of the Association will be elected annually by a majority of those present at a duly called meeting of the Association. Members may make nominations from the floor. Should a President die or resign, the senior elected member of the Executive Committee will serve as Acting President until a President is elected.

Regional representatives will be nominated from each Australian state and from New Zealand and will be elected annually by a majority of those present at a duly called meeting of the Association. Members may make nominations from the floor. The regional representatives will assist in the dissemination of information in their respective areas.

Section 4: The Executive Committee
The Executive Committee will be composed of the following: the President, the Secretary, the Treasurer, the previous President for one term, and two members elected by the membership. At least one Executive member should be from New Zealand, who will normally act as the New Zealand Treasurer.

The Executive Committee may co-opt such additional non-voting members from time to time as it thinks fit.

The Executive Committee will be responsible for the daily affairs of the Association, and a quorum of the Committee will be three members present in person or in direct communication through the electronic media. The committee will reach decisions, when necessary, by a majority vote of those present or in electronic communication within a 48-hour period.

The President of the Association will serve as Chairperson of the Executive Committee and shall call meetings of the Committee or arrange electronic communication on her/his initiative and at the request of two Committee members.

Section 5: Meetings
Normally, the Association will meet formally once each year, usually in conjunction with an annual conference.

To conduct business at a duly called meeting, the quorum will be ten members of the Association present in person. When there is not a quorum, the members will be polled by mailed ballots in any question requiring a vote, including the election of officers.

Section 6: Amendments
These by-laws may be amended by a majority vote of those present at any duly called meeting, provided that an explanation of the proposed amendment has been sent to all members of the Association not less than thirty days before the meeting. The membership list will be available upon request from the Executive Secretary.

Section 7: Non-Profit Principles
The Assets and income of the Association shall be applied solely in furtherance of its stated objects and no portion shall be applied to any other purpose except as bona fide compensation for services rendered or expenses incurred on behalf of the Association.

Upon the winding up of the Association, all income and assets on hand after payment of all liabilities will be transferred to an Institution or Association having similar objects to this Association and which shall also prohibit the distribution of its property to the same extent as the Association and which has been approved as a tax-exempt body under the Income Tax Assessment Act.

Section 8: Publications
Where resources permit, the Association will sponsor the production of peer-reviewed publications.

Where editors are required, they should be appointed by the Executive Committee. Editors thus appointed will be responsible to the Executive Committee.

Skip to content